

# **ELIGIBLE COUNTRIES**

The Erasmus+ Programme is open to the following countries:

## **PROGRAMME COUNTRIES**

The following countries can fully take part in all the Actions of the Erasmus+ Programme:

Member States of the European Union (EU) <sup>6</sup>					
Belgium	Greece	Lithuania	Portugal		
Bulgaria	Spain	Luxembourg	Romania		
Czech Republic	France	Hungary	Slovenia		
Denmark	Croatia	Malta	Slovakia		
Germany	Italy	Netherlands	Finland		
Estonia	Cyprus	Austria	Sweden		
Ireland	Latvia	Poland	United Kingdom		
	Non EU Pro	gramme Countries			
former Yugoslav	Iceland		Norway		
Republic of Macedonia	Liechtenstein		Turkey		

## **PARTNER COUNTRIES**

The following countries can take part in certain Actions of the Programme, subject to specific criteria or conditions (for more information, please consult Part B of this Guide). Funding will be allocated to organisations in the countries within their territories as recognised by international law. Applicants and participants must respect any restrictions placed on EU external assistance imposed by the European Council. Applications have to be in line with the overall EU values of respect for human dignity, freedom, democracy, equality, the rule of law and respect for human rights, including the rights of persons belonging to minorities as foreseen in art 2 of the Treaty of the European Union

### **PARTNER COUNTRIES NEIGHBOURING THE EU**<sup>7</sup>

Western Balkans (Region 1)	Eastern Partnership countries (Region 2)	South-Mediterranean countries (Region 3)	Russian Federation (Region 4)
Albania Bosnia and Herzegovina Kosovo <sup>8</sup> Montenegro Serbia	Armenia Azerbaijan Belarus Georgia Moldova Territory of Ukraine as recognised by international law	Algeria Egypt Israel Jordan Lebanon Libya Morocco Palestine <sup>9</sup> Syria Tunisia	Territory of Russia as recognised by international law

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>6</sup> According to Article 33.3 of the Council Decision 2013/755/EU\* on the Association of the OCTs with the European Union adopted on 25 November 2013 (http://eur-lex.europa.eu/LexUriServ/LexUriServ.do?uri=OJ:L:2013:344:0001:0118:EN:PDF), the Union shall ensure that individuals and organisations from or to Overseas Countries and Territories (OCT) shall be eligible for the Erasmus+, subject to the rules of the Programme and the arrangements applicable to the Member State with which these OCTs they are connected. The concerned OCTs are listed in annex II of the TFEU. <sup>7</sup> The eligibility criteria formulated in commission notice Nr.2013/C-205/05 (OJEU C-205 of 19/07/2013, pp. 9-11) shall apply for all actions imple-

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>7</sup> The eligibility criteria formulated in commission notice Nr.2013/C-205/05 (OJEU C-205 of 19/07/2013, pp. 9-11) shall apply for all actions implemented through this Programme Guide, including with respect to third parties receiving financial support in the cases where the respective action involves financial support to third parties by grant beneficiaries in accordance with article 137 of the EU's Financial Regulation.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>8</sup> This designation is without prejudice to positions on status, and is in line with UNSCR 1244 and the ICJ Opinion on the Kosovo declaration of independence.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>9</sup> This designation shall not be construed as recognition of a State of Palestine and is without prejudice to the individual positions of the Member States on this issue.



## **OTHER PARTNER COUNTRIES**

Some Actions of the Programme are open to any Partner Country of the world listed below. For some other Actions the geographical scope is less broad.

The Partner Countries below are regrouped according to the financial instruments of the EU external action.

Region 5	Andorra, Monaco, San Marino, Vatican City State, Switzerland
Region 6 <sup>10</sup> Asia	Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Cambodia, China, DPR Korea, India, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Maldives, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan, Philippines, Sri Lanka, Thailand and Vietnam
Region 7 <sup>11</sup> Central Asia	Kazakstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan
Region 8 <sup>12</sup> Latin America	Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatema- la, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay, Venezuela
Region 9 <sup>13</sup>	Iran, Iraq, Yemen
Region 10 <sup>14</sup>	South Africa
Region 11 <sup>15</sup> ACP	Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Belize, Cape Verde, Comoros, Bahamas, Barbados, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo (Brazzaville), Congo (Kinshasa), Cook Islands, Côte d'Ivoire,Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Fiji, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Grenada, Republic of Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Equatorial Guinea, Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica, Kenya, Kiribati, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Mauritius, Micronesia, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, Niger, Nigeria, Niue, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Rwanda, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Solomon Islands, Samoa, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Suriname, Swaziland, Tanzania, East Timor, Togo, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tuvalu, Uganda, Vanuatu, Zambia, Zimbabwe.
Region 12 <sup>16</sup> Industrialised: Gulf Cooperation countries	Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates.
Region 13 <sup>17</sup> Other Industrialised countries	Australia, Brunei, Canada, Hong Kong, Japan, (Republic of) Korea, Macao, New Zealand, Singapore, Taiwan, United States of America.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>10</sup> Classification used in the framework of the Development and Cooperation Instrument (DCI).

 <sup>&</sup>lt;sup>10</sup> Classificati
<sup>11</sup> As above.
<sup>12</sup> As above.
<sup>13</sup> As above.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>14</sup> As above.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>15</sup> Classification used in the framework of the European Development Fund (EDF).

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>16</sup> Classification used in the framework of the Partnership Instrument (PI).

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>17</sup> Classification used in the framework of the Partnership Instrument (PI).



For more information, please consult the detailed description of the Actions of the Programme in the Part B of this Guide.

#### **REQUIREMENTS REGARDING VISA AND RESIDENCE PERMITS**

Participants in Erasmus+ projects may need to obtain a visa for staying abroad in the Programme or Partner Country hosting the activity. It is a responsibility of all the participating organisations to ensure that the authorisations required (short or long-term stay visas or residence permits) are in order before the planned activity takes place. It is strongly recommended that the authorisations are requested from the competent authorities well in advance, since the process may take several weeks. National Agencies and the Executive Agency may give further advice and support concerning visas, residence permits, social security, etc. The EU Immigration Portal contains general information on visa and residence permits, for both short-term and long-term stays: <a href="http://ec.europa.eu/immigration/tab2.do?subSec=11&language=7\$en.">http://ec.europa.eu/immigration/tab2.do?subSec=11&language=7\$en.</a>